LIVE STEM with Let's Talk Science (2020-21)

Course Information
Category Educators

Format: Self-paced

Location: Canada

Duration: 6 Hours

Start Date: 1/18/2021

End Date: 7/1/2021

Enrollment opens: 11/27/2020

Enrollment closes: 7/1/2021

Course Features
  • Video Lectures

LIVE STEM with Let's Talk Science (2020-21)

Synopsis

Between February 2021 - June 2021, Let's Talk Science will be presenting a series of live broadcasts to classrooms across Canada using Zoom. During these co-learning broadcasts, a Let’s Talk Science facilitator will lead educators and their students through engaging, interactive activities designed to introduce and reinforce science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) concepts and computational thinking concepts and skills. There will be broadcasts tailored to educators and students in three separate audiences: Kindergarten to Grade 3, Grades 4 to 6 and Grades 7 to 9. Broadcasts are available in English and French. When you sign up for one, whether that's the science, technology, engineering or math broadcast, you will have access to them all! That includes all materials and recordings for the LIVE STEM broadcasts along with email updates on when the next broadcasts are taking place.

Course Overview

By registering for these broadcasts, educators will receive access to an online teacher guide that includes information on how to join the broadcasts, a list of the activities and materials required to participate in the activities, follow-up extension activities and the necessary link to watch the broadcast live with their students. A recording of the broadcast will also be made available to watch on-demand where participation in the live broadcast is not possible.


Broadcasts will be held in English during the following dates:
  • Science: Kindergarten to Grade 3 (February 2), Grades 4-6 (February 3), Grades 7-9 (February 4)
    • Each live broadcast will be at 2:00 NST/1:30 AST/12:30 EST/11:30 CST/10:30 MST/9:30 PST
  • Technology: Kindergarten to Grade 3 (March 2), Grades 4-6 (March 3, Grades 7-9 (March 4)
    • Each live broadcast will be at 2:00 NST/1:30 AST/12:30 EST/11:30 CST/10:30 MST/9:30 PST
  • Engineering: Kindergarten to Grade 3 (May 4), Grades 4-6 (May 5), Grades 7-9 (May 6)
    • Each live broadcast will be at 2:00 NDT/1:30 ADT/12:30 EDT/11:30 CDT/10:30 MDT/9:30 PDT
  • Math: Kindergarten to Grade 3 (June 1), Grades 4-6 (June 2), Grades 7-9 (June 3)
    • Each live broadcast will be at 2:00 NDT/1:30 ADT/12:30 EDT/11:30 CDT/10:30 MDT/9:30 PDT
Broadcasts recordings will be available on demand the day after their live broadcast date.

New to Let’s Talk Science Brightspace?
  1. Click on this link to “Create an Account
  2. Create a new account. Note if you have a previous account with Let’s Talk Science please use that email when creating your new account.
  3. You will be redirected to the login page. Please login.
  4. Come back on this page, click the "Login/Create an Account" button then the bright red “Enroll” button to be enrolled in the course!
If you run into any problems, please email info@letstalkscience.ca.